Migration of one file kicks user out of entire system?

This may be intentional but wanted to check…

We were doing testing and had the solution open. I created a new deployment for just one file to replace the file on the server. (even did a round to do a quick migration)

It closed the file as first order of business even before it created or fetched the build.

The user experience was they got a message to close the file, then just moments later the file did close. then they got a message that they were kicked from the entire solution even though all other files remained open.

I would think that the operation could be better if:

  1. Request Build
  2. Fetch Build
  3. wait / delay
  4. Close Files on Server once received.
  5. Migrate / Install
  6. Open Files

As it is now the user is kicked out for the duration of the file transfer and migration.

Hi Stephen,

We will look at this. But I am not sure it will get a very high priority.

I get your point. But most deployments to production involve JIT clones or prebuilt packages, neither of which have significant build and fetch times. Otto has always followed this same order.

Todd